USS Chicago (SSN721) – 1:350 / Riich

For some distraction between other builds I choose a 1/350 scale Los Angeles class flight II boat from Riich Models (RN28006).  The flight II boats carry 12 VLS tubes in front of the sail. As a big fan of Tom Clancy’s novel „Red Storm Rising“ I choose to build SSN 721 – Chicago. Even if there is now way you could tell from the finished model 😉

It was my first kit from Riich and I have to say, that I enjoyed it. The hull has very nice moulded detail and fit is good. Since the hull is made up of three parts (two lower halves and single upper part) it required a bit of filling and sanding to get a seamless finish.  On the periscopes I replaced the upper part by some brass tube which is less work than cleaning up the plastic parts.

After a coat of primer the lower hull was painted red using AK731 Schiffsbodenfarbe. After the first coat I added some colour modulation using brown and black. Then the red was masked off and the upper part was painted in a dark grey. I applied some colour modulation with highly diluted black (using Ammo of MIG Transparator) till I liked the effect and the overall look. Although you can only really see it in very bright light. The bow, which covers the sonar, is made of fibre glass and looks very black and dull on pictures. Therefore I painted it with AMIG Nato Black. I highlighted the VLS covers and some panels to create some interest. Some covers on the sail were painted in a light gray according to pictures.

After a coat of Alclad Aquagloss it was time to apply the decals. The decals are printed on a thick and semi matte carrier, but in the end they went on better than expected. I decided against a hull number as most pictures show none. The draft markings add a very nice touch and the numbers can actually be read. Although they all are split in two decals which is a bit strange but poses no real issue. A final coat of satin varnish sealed everything. The stand is supplied in the kit and I painted it black and brass.

I’m very pleased with the overall look and happy to add this well known class of submarines to my collection. In retrospect I think, that the nose looks a bit pointy compared to pictures, but I did not compare the kit to drawings.

Deutsche Zusammenfassung

Mein erster Bausatz von Riich. Die Detaillierung und die Passgenauigkeit überzeugen. Der Rumpf besteht allerdings aus drei Teilen. Daher ist doch etwas Schleifarbeit notwendig um alle Stöße verschwinden zu lassen.

Die untere Hälfte habe ich mit AK731 Schiffsbodenfarbe lackiert und mit Braun und Schwarz etwas schattiert. Nach dem Abkleben habe ich die Oberseite Dunkelgrau lackiert. Hier habe ich mit stark verdünntem Schwarz abgedunkelt und schattiert. Zum Verdünnen habe ich hier AMIG Transparator benutzt. Der Bug besteht aus Glasfaser und ist auf Fotos oft tiefschwarz und matt. Daher habe ich diesen Bereich dann mit AMIG Nato Black lackiert. Die Decals sind auf recht milchigem Film gedruckt, sehen am Modell dann aber doch gut aus. Der Ständer ist im Bausatz enthalten und wurde in Schwarz und Messing lackiert.

Ich bin bin mit dem Endergebnis sehr zufrieden. Auf jeden Fall eine schöne Bereicherung für die Sammlung.

–stugiii